Home TaeKwonDo About Us Classes Discounts Syllabus


Call for details or your free trial today on

07707 532623

Enquiry Form



 Please call 07707 532623 for more details or email info@dartfordmartialarts.co.uk

1st Degree

KWANG-GAE: is named after the famous Gwang-Gae-T'o-Wang, the 19th king of the Koguryo Dynasty, who regained all the lost territories including the greater part of Manchuria. The diagram  represents the expansion and recovery of lost territory. The 39 movements refer to his reign for 39 years.

PO-EUN: is the pseudonym of a loyal subject Chong Mong-Chu (1400 A.D.) who was a famous poet and whose poem; "I would not serve a second master though I might be crucified a hundred times." is known to every Korean. He was also a pioneer in the field of physics. The diagram (-) represents his unerring loyalty to the king and country towards the end of the Koryo Dynasty. (36 movements)

GE-BAEK: is named after Ge-Baek, a great general in the Baek Je Dynasty (660 A.D.). The diagram (I) represents his severe and strict military discipline. (44 movements)

2nd Degree

EUI-AM: is the pseudonym of Son Byong Hi, leader of the Korean independence movement on March 1, 1919. The 45 movements relate to his age when he changed the name of Dong Hak (Oriental Culture) to Chondo Kyo (Heavenly Way Religion) in 1905. The diagram (I) represents his indomitable spirit displayed while dedicating himself to the prosperity of his nation. (45 movements)

CHOONG-JANG: is the pseudonym given to General Kim Duk Ryang who lived during the Joseon Dynasty, fifteenth century. This pattern ends with a left-hand attack to symbolise the tragedy of his death at 27 in prison before he was able to reach full maturity. (52 movements)

KO-DANG: is the pseudonym of the patriot Cho Man Sik who dedicated his life to the independence movement and education of his people. The 39 movements signify his times of imprisonment and his birthplace on the 39th parallel.

3rd Degree

SAM-IL: denotes the historical date of the independence movement of Korea which began throughout the country on March 1, 1919. The 33 movements in the pattern stand for the 33 patriots who planned the movement.

YOO-SIN: is named after General Kim Yoo Sin, commanding general during the Silla Dynasty, who unified the three separate kingdoms of Korea. The 68 movements refer to the last two figures of 668 A.D., the year Korea was united.

CHOI-YONG: is named after General Choi Yong, Premier and Commander-in-Chief of the armed forces during the fourteenth century Koryo Dynasty. Choi Yong was greatly respected for his loyalty, patriotism, and humility. He was executed by his subordinate commanders, headed by General Yi Sung Gae, who later became the first king of the Joseon Dynasty.(46 movements)